Please Wait, Processing...

Please do not close or navigate away from this window while it is processing

Like most websites AirForces Monthly uses cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on AirForces Monthly website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more


News: Schools Aerospace Challenger winners announced

Published 23 November 2016, 17:11

The Schools Aerospace Challenge winners for 2016 were announced at the Awards Reception held at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers in London on Monday 21st November.

Team Aerospike, from Bablake School, Coventry are this year’s winners. Their design solution for a hypersonic transport aircraft capable of delivering humanitarian aid anywhere on the globe within hours was judged to be this year’s best entry. Team leader Harry Loud and his co-members, Sam Cranage and Lantian Pinkney were presented with their trophies and prize money by Royal Air Force Chief of Staff, Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Hillier accompanied by I Mech E President Mr Jon Hilton. SAC organiser Craig Penrice commented, “ the entries this year were of a particularly high standard making the judging especially hard, it was a tough contest and once again the judges were impressed by the originality of thought and attention to detail from all the entries”.

The 2017 Challenge will be announced early in the new year, look out for adverts in Combat Aircraft, AirForces Monthly, Aviation News, AIR International and Airliner World magazines.

Filed Under: News

Red Arrows to Re-equip with New Aircraft